Note: Sharing a List does not grant access to full course previews. If you have collaborators who need to review courses in full, have them create an OpenSesame account, then contact your Customer Success Manager for next steps.
Use OpenSesame Lists to organize courses and collect feedback from stakeholders. This guide explains the collaboration tools.
If you prefer videos, see the following walkthrough:
- For an introduction to Lists, see How to use OpenSesame Lists.
- For custom course recommendations, see How to use Smart Lists.
- For premade Lists from our expert curators, see How to use Curated Lists.
In this guide:
Share a List
Assign roles and permissions
Before you add collaborators, decide which permissions they need.
Every List has three possible roles:
- Admin
- Editor
- Viewer
A role applies only to the specific List. The List creator is automatically an Admin.
If you’re not sure which role to assign, see the following permissions table. (On narrow screens, scroll for the full table.)
| Permission | Admin | Editor | Viewer |
| View List | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| View collaborators | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Add viewers | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Edit List | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Add editors | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ |
| Add admins | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ |
| Remove collaborators | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ |
Review sharing limits
The following limits apply when you share a List:
- Collaborators: Add up to 30 total collaborators per List.
- Shares per day: Share up to 10 different Lists per day.
- List titles: Titles can't include a URL or an email address.
Find your List
By default, any List you create is private. To let others view or edit the List, invite them.
When logged in to OpenSesame, select My Lists.
Open a List by selecting its title.
Add a collaborator
On your List, open the Share List menu and select Add collaborators.
Note: On Curated Lists, the Share List menu doesn’t appear. To collaborate on a Curated List, use the Options menu to make a copy, then share the copy.
Enter the collaborator's email address and set their role.
Select the Add (+) button to add them to a queue.
If you have more collaborators, repeat these steps. When ready to share, select Send List.
A confirmation appears, and an invitation email is sent to the collaborators.
Note: If an error appears, your login may have timed out. Reload the page or log back in, then try again.
Add multiple collaborators
To add several collaborators to your List at the same time, paste their email addresses into the Collaborators field. Avoid “invalid email” errors by separating each address with a comma or line break.
Select the Add (+) button to add the collaborators to a queue.
In the queue, you can adjust the roles if needed.
When ready to share, select Send List. A confirmation appears, and an invitation email is sent to the collaborators.
Note: If an error appears, your login may have timed out. Reload the page or log back in, then try again.
Review or remove collaborators
To check your List’s collaborators and their roles, open the Share List menu and select View collaborators.
The Collaborators table has the following information:
-
Name
- If an account exists for an invited email address, the name from their account appears.
- If an account doesn't exist, the email address appears instead.
- Role - Admin, Editor, or Viewer for this specific List.
- Added By - Who invited them to the List.
- Date Added - When they were invited to the List.
- Last Accessed - When they last visited the List.
To remove a collaborator, select their entry, then select the Remove button that appears.
Collaborate on a List
See real-time changes
When you’re on a List at the same time as a collaborator, an icon appears for them.
If the collaborator has editing permissions, changes they make to the List’s courses immediately appear in your view. Changes you make appear in their view.
Add or review feedback
To add feedback on a course or see what your collaborators have added, select its Feedback button.
A feedback panel opens. Any notes that you and your collaborators add appear here.
You can also find additional course information.
- For complete information, select the View details button to visit the course page.
- For basic information, select the Course Details tab.
To add feedback:
- Select the Notes & Feedback tab.
- Select the Like or Dislike button.
- (Optional) Enter a note.
- Select Save.
Each entry has a limit of 255 characters. To say more, add another note.
When a course has multiple notes, they appear chronologically, starting with the most recent one.
If you liked or disliked a course, its Feedback button updates to match when you close the feedback panel and return to the List.
When collaborators add their own feedback, your buttons don’t change.
Finally, if your collaborators add feedback to many Lists, contact your Customer Success Manager for a report that consolidates those notes.
For help, contact OpenSesame Support at support@opensesame.com, use live chat, or call (503) 808-1268, ext. 2 (U.S.) or +44 203 744 5541 (Europe).
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.